Week 3 in Valencia - Reisverslag uit Valencia, Spanje van Marianne Reurik - WaarBenJij.nu Week 3 in Valencia - Reisverslag uit Valencia, Spanje van Marianne Reurik - WaarBenJij.nu

Week 3 in Valencia

Door: Marianne

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marianne

27 September 2016 | Spanje, Valencia

Buenas tardes!

Hello people who like to read my blog. Because I made so many international friends I will write this blog in English. Especially for my girl Sara!

Monday – Nothing special

On Monday I, the good girl I am, went to class. I still really enjoy classes here, the subjects are really interesting and the teachers actually seem to like teaching us. After class Marieke and I had some drinks at a bar with two girls of our class. After dinner I wrote last week’s blog, and went to bed early.

Tuesday – Going out with the girls

On Tuesday I had to be in class at 8 again. Still think that it is not natural for a person to get up that early. I always think I’m really the only one awake at that time, but when I walk outside the city is awake and in the Turia park people are running. After my class in Spanish, which is so boring because I don’t understand anything, I went home to have a siesta. In the evening I went to Marieke and Sara’s apartment to have dinner. Meike also ate with us, she is a dutchie as well. After dinner we had some drinks with Mirjam and Winnie, two Dutch girls from Wageningen. We went dancing in a small club. It was really hot inside and there were too many people. So after a few hours I went home.

Wednesday – Las Fallas

After a good night’s sleep I went to the Fallas museum with Winnie and Marieke. Las Fallas is a very important holiday in Valencia. It’s celebrated on the 19th of March every year. They have an age-old tradition, which includes building large dolls and burn them afterwards. First the dolls go through the city in a parade. Afterwards the most beautiful doll is chosen, the other dolls will be burnt. Many women dress up really nice, one woman is chosen as the mayor of the Fallas. She gets a really beautiful dress and in the museum a painting of her will be hung. I really liked the museum, the oldest doll was made during the ‘30’s. The dolls had various themes, some were realistic, caricatured, or fantasy figures. (See pictures). After the museum Winnie and I went to the beach. On the beach I played beach volleyball with two Spaniards and a dutch girl. They were really good, and I was not that great so afterwards I was really really tired. After dinner the English boys came over to drink some beer.

Thursday – Really nothing

On Thursday I did nothing, yes I had a hangover. Not proud, but that’s what happens on Erasmus I think. So instead of telling you how awful I felt I’ll tell you about how much I walk here. On my phone I have an app that counts my steps. Because I don’t have my own bike, and cycling here is not that easy, I have to walk allot. I don’t mind actually, it is nice to do. However not when it is too warm. I walked an average of 6,2 km per day this month. This includes also this Thursday when I walked close to nothing.

Friday – Berklee and Bradleys birthday

I woke with severe pain in my stomach so I skipped my classes. After a few hours and some tea I felt better, and went to the beach to read a little. In the evening Sara, Marieke, and I went to the open air concert from Berklee. A music summer school, with students from all over the world. It was very different compared to last week, but really good. So many talented people. But soon dark clouds appeared and we saw lightening. I was calling with my mom, but had to end it because I was afraid it was about to rain. Fortunately, we got home dry after the concert. We changed our cloths to party outfits. We did want to go to get some dinner but it started to rain, allot. We had to wait until it stopped, but it didn’t. If it starts to rain here it keeps on going for a few hours. After several minutes we decided to go out and had the most disgusting dinner ever. I’ll never go to that place again. After dinner we had some drinks with Bradley and his friends, and got to a club. Sara doesn’t drink alcohol at all and Marieke and I didn’t feel like drinking too much. After a few hours of dancing Marieke and I became tired and cranky of all the
drunk boys. Therefore, we left and went to sleep.

Saturday – Relaxing and bbq

On Saturday I went to the beach again, yes I often go to the beach. After the beach we went had a BBQ with Chris, Bradley, Brad and Jamie. Chris and I have a BBQ on our terrace, and we made some nice food. Some of it was burned but I guess that’s usual. I went to sleep early because I had to be up really early the next day.

Sunday – Montanejos

At nine the bus to Montanejos left. I went on a trip with happy Erasmus to the mountains. Montanejos is a small town in the mountains with hot water springs. After a scary ride in the bus, the driver is crazy I’m sure, we arrived at the springs. We had the option to go directly to the springs or to hike 3 hours. I chose the last option, fit girl I am. The start of the hike was really hard, my fitness is not that good. But after the first kilometres it became better. I was walking with Marieke and Mirjam. Winnie and her roommate Yvet, hadn’t slept that much to they walked slow. The hike was really beautiful. After the hike we arrived back to the springs, we were sweaty and wanted to swing. The water should be 25 degrees but that’s a lie. It was really really cold. After a nice, but cold swim we relaxed a bit. We met two other Dutch girls, Cindy and Winny. It started to rain a little bit but we dutchies can handle it. There was a second shorter hike to a cave. I walked together with Cindy and Winny which was nice. The cave was really big and beautiful. Afterwards we went to little Venice, a place near Valencia with cute houses and lots of water. It was raining so we went to drink horchata, it’s a typical Valencian drink made from tigernuts ( aardamandelen). It is weird and I don’t know if I like it. Once we were back in Valencia, I went out to have dinner with Jamie, because everyone else already had dinner and we were too lazy to cook. I got to bed early because I had to be in class the next day at 8, and I want to have some structure in my life.

Hasta próxima semana!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marianne

Actief sinds 08 Sept. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 236
Totaal aantal bezoekers 16031

Voorgaande reizen:

01 September 2016 - 31 Januari 2017

Studeren in Valencia

Landen bezocht: